Tinker

Experiments in tinkering and thought

Apple Recipes – Spiced Apple Crisp

Leave a comment

After making apple turnovers and apple pie, it was time for a new recipe.  The last two had sensibly the same composition: apples, sugar, cinnamon.  I wanted to mix it up a bit, so I thought I would add more spices… and rhum!  I looked up a few recipes and found that the main spices used are the same as pumpkin pie basically, so cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, and allspice.  I wanted to give it a bit of zing though, so in addition to those, I also added a bit of crushed hot pepper, more lime, and rhum!  I tried it out without really knowing the final result, but I was really happy with the result.

It is tricky to get the spice level right.  Usually I would taste to see what needs adding, but since the acidity from the apple and the taste of the spices gets much more attenuated from cooking, what you taste is not always what you get.

This is meant to have a little bit of warmth and tang, not so much to be spicy per se.  If you want to actually make it spicy, you will need more red pepper.  I am not sure how it would turn out though… could be good, could be not so good.  I also am not a huge fan of powdered ginger, so there is not much, but if you like it you can add more.


Recipe – Spiced Apple Crisp

Apple filling:

  • ~ 8 cups of apples – enough to fit a pyrex 4″x6″
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/4 cup rum
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • a pinch of dry ginger
  • 1/4 tsp allspice
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp crushed red peppers
  • 1/2 lime (juice)

Crumble top:

  • 1 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup margarine

Preheat oven to 350 F.

This recipe is even more straightforward than the apple pie.  Simply mix all the ingredients from the apple mix together until relatively homogeneous.  For the crumble top, you can just follow the same steps as in the lazy apple crumble recipe (mix solids, then add margarine to them in chunks while mixing).  Put your filling into the pyrex, I did not botter to butter it or anything since there is a fair amount of liquid that will keep it form sticking.  Pour your crumble mix over the top and distribute it as evenly as possible.  Put it in the pre-heated oven, and cook for 40 minutes.  In my case, for the last 10 minutes, I increased the temperature to 400 F in the hopes of maybe caramelizing some of the sugar in the bottom, and better browning the top.

Finally, after taking it out of the oven, I added some of the left over apple caramel I had made with the previous recipe.

I just served it as is, but I think that it would be even better served with a generous scoop of vanilla ice cream on the side.

Let me know how it turns out, and happy eating!

Author: Tinker

I am finishing a PhD at Université de Montréal, following a bachelors in Biochemistry as well as a Masters degree in chemistry from McGill. I have many hobbies that are centered around experiments of some sort (either electronics, coding, cooking, construction, plants, acrobatics, etc.). I also have been doing tai chi for the last decade, and intermittently doing kung fu as well.

Leave a Reply

